• Ne

    ELEMENTS / MIKAMO / Quasars Ensemble

    18:00BMC, Budapest Music Center, Mátyás u. 8, Budapest, Hungary
    Program: I. Xenakis, Ch. Czernowin, P. Tornyai, W. A. Mozart, M. Polónyi, V. Bokes




    The concert of MIKAMO Central European Chamber Orchestra offers an unparalleled sensual and intellectual journey through four pieces that engage with aspects of the philosophical immanent in our world. The centenarian Xenakis places planet Earth in the center of his composition Aroura, and Czernowin’s Anea Crystal derives its title from an imaginary and invented element by the composer. Tornyai’s Ach Gott und Herr paraphrases the baroque perception of divine presence.

    We find that embedding historic repertory pieces in a creative process gives us much-needed access to the historic continuum without aesthetic compromises. The paraphrase of the first movement Mozart’s K 525 is a collective work of all performers. Our guest for this show is Bratislava’s Quasars Ensemble, who will play Bokes’ frisky Coll’Age with lots of references to Mozart and Xenakis and the premiere of Polónyi’s sporty miniature.


    MIKAMO Central European Chamber Orchestra was founded by critically acclaimed graduates of the Viennese University of Music and Performing Arts in 2007. The ensemble considers concerts as Gesamtkunstwerk and regards historic music repertory as the extrapolation of new works from our time. While dedicated to living composers and the repertory of actual music, MIKAMO also promotes artistic continuity in definition of a Central European musical heritage by regularly performing in defining concert halls of Vienna, Bratislava, Budapest and Central Europe in general.



    Iannis Xenakis: Aroura

    Chaya Czernowin: Anea crystal

    Péter Tornyai: Ach Gott und Herr

    Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Serenade No. 13 in G major, K 525 (“Eine kleine Nachtmusik”) –Soundpainting paraphrase

    Mário Polónyi: The Relay Race (world premiere)

    Vladimír Bokes: Coll'Age for piano quintet, op. 28



    MIKAMO Central European Chamber Orchestra
    guest ensemble: Quasars Ensemble (Slovakia)
    Conducting: Ajtony Csaba


    Entrance: 2000 Ft
    Pre-sale: HERE

    More info: Budapest Music Center


    The concert is organised by the Sonus Foundation for the Support of New Music and Contemporary Performing Arts in cooperation of the QUASARS with the support of the National Cooperation Fund, the National Cultural Fund and the Bratislava Foundation.